Historical Commission

Towamensing Township is the first township in Carbon County to adopt a historical preservation zoning ordinance. In 2007, the Township Supervisors appointed an ad hoc committee to identify historic buildings or sites in the Township and report its findings. This committee consisting of Mary Beth Beers, Lora Nothstein, Roy Christman and Tom Newman working with Township residents, identified approximately 130 historic township resources.

Download 2015 Membership Letter (.pdf)

2018 Meeting Dates

January 25, 2018

February 22, 2018

March 22, 2018

April 26, 2018

May 24, 2018

June 28, 2018

2010 Historic Commission

July 26, 2018

August 23, 2018

September 27, 2018

October 25, 2018

November 21, 2018

December 19, 2018

In 2009, the Supervisors adopted the list as part of the Township's Zoning Ordinance and appointed a Historical Commission. The current membership for 2012 consists of Karl Rolappe, Chair; Tom Newman, Vice Chair; Dick Bieling, Secretary/Treasurer: and members Mary Beth Beers, Lora Nothstein, Carol Copeland, and Paul Hoppel. Connie Bieling and Roy Christman are acting as consultants. This Commission is charged with updating the resource list, collecting material on the historic structures, and making recommendations to the Supervisors.

The Historic Commission meets the fourth Thursday of the month at the Township Building on Stable Road and members of the public are encouraged to attend these meetings.

Ice Block Home on Pohopoco Drive
Ice Block Home on Pohopoco Drive


Greenzweig School Open House


Members of Towamensing Township who have greatly assisted this committee. To whom we owe our respect, thanks and appreciation.

Albertine Anthony, Charles Beer,Curt Beers, Earle Beers ,Tim Beers, Bill Berger, Leon Christman ,Dick Hall, Marvin Haydt, Toni Darwin (Volunteer), Wendy Dreyer (Volunteer), Lora Nothstein (Volunteer), Jillyan Sterling (Volunteer), and Ralph and Betty Weil (Volunteer), Elsa Kerschner of the Times News, Chris Menna of the Morning Call, Ed Repasch, Ex Dir. Bethlehem Water Authority, Bethlehem Pa., Larry Stawiarski, Carbon County Mapping Office, Jim Thorpe, PA., George White